Hawkwind - Roadhawks

In stock
can be shipped within 1-3 working days

Price incl. VAT, plus delivery

Hawkwind - Roadhawks
Roadhawks - Hawkwind.jpg
Compilation album by Hawkwind
Released 1976
Recorded 1970–1975
Genre Space rock
Label United Artists
Producer Dick Taylor
(side 1, tracks 1, 2),
Doctor Technical
(side one, track 4),
Doug Bennett
(side two, track 3),
Hawkwind chronology
Marters of the Universe
Professional ratings
Review scores
Source Rating
Allmusic 3/5 stars


  "Roadhawks", is a 1976 compilation album by Hawkwind covering the years 1970-1975. The band referred to their live shows with the term "Roadhawks" for many years. However, there is only one live song on the album. The inside cover includes a shimmering photograph of the band in concert that appears to feature frozen strobe lights.


Nature of the Music

The tracks are mostly in chronological order; "You Shouldn't Do That" was originally released on Hawkwind's second album, "In Search Of Space". The music was compiled and remixed by Dave Brock and included "Silver Machine" and "Urban Guerilla", which had previously been available only as singles. The album reached #45 on the UK album charts.

A previously unreleased live version of "You Shouldn't Do That"/"Seeing It As You Really Are" is included on this album. This performance was taken from the same live show where the bulk of "Space Ritual" was derived. This track would likely have been included in the original release of that seminal live album except for a break in the recording (which was filled during the remixing with a simple instrumental interlude). The song is now included as a bonus track on CD reissues of the "Space Ritual" album.

This album was a favorite of many early Hawkwind fans due to the inclusion of standout tracks and the seamless feel that left no breaks between songs. Also, many of the band's early albums were difficult to locate in the U.S. In particular, "Wind of Change" and "The Golden Void" are preferred by many listeners in their setting on this album as opposed to their placement on the original albums. These two songs also serve as a sort of test of the reproduction capabilities of an audio system, with the extremely low bass tones on the former song and the shrill opening riffs on the latter song overwhelming many sound systems.


Track listing

Side one

  1. "Hurry on Sundown" - from Hawkwind
  2. "Paranoia" (edit) - from Hawkwind
  3. "You Shouldn't Do That" - previously unreleased live version on LP, included on Space Ritual (CD reissue)
  4. "Silver Machine" - single previously unreleased on LP, included on In Search of Space (CD reissue)

Side two

  1. "Urban Guerilla" - single previously unreleased on LP, included on Doremi Fasol Latido (remaster)
  2. "Space Is Deep" - from Doremi Fasol Latido
  3. "Wind of Change" - from Hall of the Mountain Grill
  4. "The Golden Void" - from Warrior on the Edge of Time


Release history

  • Apr 1976: United Artists, UAK29919
  • Apr 1984: EMI Fame, FA413096-1



Hawkwind - Roadhawks

UK United Artists UAK 29919 stereo (1976).

Album produced by Dick Taylor , Doug Bennett and Hawkwind.

The vinyl record has remained in excellent condition.

Audio quality is very clear and strong throughout.

Both record centre labels are clean and unmarked.

Both record centre labels are free from tears, stains or stickers.

The albums hinged cover is in excellent condition, displaying only minor signs of wear.

The album cover has a strong undamaged hinge and spine, displaying very clear, printed script.

Browse these categories as well: Hard Rock/Metal/Punk Albums, Progressive & Classic Rock Albums